Herbert G. Klein Memorial Award

The Herbert G. Klein Memorial LEADership Award is presented annually to a member of LEAD's IMPACT San Diego class who has made significant leadership contributions to our community and has demonstrated the potential to effect further change upon graduation from the program.

Read Herbert G. Klein's biography

IMPACT 2016 Herbert G. klein memorial leadership Award Winner: amanda cheyney

Amanda Cheyney serves as Lead Program Specialist for San Diego Workforce Partnership. She manages up to $3 million federally funded workforce development contracts annually, serving 1,500 at-risk youth throughout San Diego County. Amanda ensures quality control of program implementation, including contracting, procurement, technical assistance and continuous program improvement. She also develops and trains the program specialist team and the youth service provider staff.

Formerly, she was Youth Program Coordinator for San Diego Futures Foundation and also served as Program Assistant for the U.S. Mexico Border Health Commission.

Amanda’s professional involvement includes participation with the California Workforce Association; National Association of Workforce Development Professionals; Passport to Life Career and Education Expo Coordinating Committee; YMCA Youth and Family Services’ Connections 2020 Advisory Committee; City Heights Partnership for Children; National Association of Hispanic MBAs; Association of Latino Professionals for America; RISE San Diego; San Diego City College’s Price Scholarship Program; SDSU President’s Latino Advisory Committee; and SDSU Aztec Mentorship Program. She has been actively involved with MANA de San Diego for the past six years and currently serves as MANA’s Vice President of Programs. Amanda participates in the San Diego District Attorney Citizens’ Academy and was recently nominated to serve on the San Diego American Diabetes Association Community Leadership Board.


2015 Christina Vincent

2014 Haney Hong

2013 James Lepanto

2012 Dr. Danell Scarborough

2011 Arzo Nasiri

2010 Dr. Chris Searles

2009 Bob Benson

2008 Hal Dunning

2017 Dalouge Smith